Home > Uttarakhand History
     Send a Quick Query


  • Uttarakhand Pilgrimages

    Devbhoomi Uttarakhand A real place that gives you a spiritual divine on every footstep.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Uttarakhand History

Uttarakhand, previously it was called Uttaranchal is one of the beautiful states of India which has all the aspects of tourism. Uttarakhand became a 27th state of India after separated from Uttar Pradesh at November 9, 2000. The state Uttarakhand is located in the northern part of India and borders Nepal on the east, Haryana to the west , Himachal Pradesh to the north west, Uttar Pradesh to the south and Tibet Autonomous Region on the north. When the state is separated from Uttar Pradesh, it named as Uttaranchal but in Jan 2007, the name of this Uttaranchal State was officially changed to Uttarakhand.

Dehradun is the provisional capital of the state which is one of the largest cities of the state Uttarakhand and the High Court is in Nainital. The population of Uttarakhand is around 8.50 million. There are two main regions in Uttarakhand, Garhwal and Kumaon and the people are generally called either Garhwali or Kumaoni according to their respective regions. Garhwali and Kumaoni are main dialects of Uttarakhand, but Jaunsari and Bhotiya dialects are also spoken by tribal communities. Hindi and English are the most languages used for conversations in urban regions.

Out of the total 51,125 km square geographical area the state of Uttarakhand or Uttaranchal has 93% mountains at which 64% is covered with forests. Remaining parts of forest is a part of Himalaya ranges and covered with glaciers or snow. And the 7% part of the state is plane area. All these beauty of nature made the state beautiful and full of tourism aspects. Jim Corbett National Park, Valley of Flowers National Park and Nanda Devi National Park are some adventurous and most visiting destinations of the state.

The state of Uttarakhand is a small state of India and has 13 districts which is grouped according to Garhwal and Kumaon divisions. Garahwal division includes 7 and Kumaon division includes 6 districts.

     Mail Us:    contact@uttarakhandyatra.in    ||    Call Us:    +91 827-330-2484    or    +91 827-330-2484    ||    Live Chat:    Click Here

Copyright © 2012 by Uttarakhand Yatra. All rights reserved.